Two weeks post-Tiddler

 

I used to have the sort of body that kept up with me. 

If I wanted to climb a mountain, I’d climb the mountain.

If I wanted to drink all night and be dancing when the sun came up, I’d just find a venue and get on with it. 

I also had a demanding job, an interesting house-husband (he’s training to be a mountain guide on the side – enough said?) and found my life rewarding but moderately difficult.

Silly me.  Then out of no-where at twenty-six years old I became a type one diabetic. It didn’t stop me from doing much (I was travelling in India a few weeks after diagnosis) but suddenly I had to control my own blood sugars… and I wasn’t very good at it. Injections and random hypoglycaemic episodes became part of my life (that is, where your blood sugar goes too low. Your brain needs a certain amount of sugar to fuction: I can best describe hypoglycemia as a switch going in your head and suddenly you’re acting drunk).

Embarrassments happened. Food stopped being whatever it used to be and became a guessing game – How many carbohydrates in this bit of food I am about to eat? How much energy am I going to use up in the next few hours? How much insulin should I give myself?  Will I be above the legal sugar limit to drive a car in three hours time? On the other hand, are my levels so high that I’m running long-term risks to my kidneys? 

Get these judgements wrong and you become ‘drunk’ or risk suffering serious long-term illness. I still looked exactly the same but suddenly my blood sugar control had to come before everything else. I didn’t feel the same and I suppose I didn’t act it either.

Anyway then (unrelated and slightly more planned) I had a baby. Then I had another.

Don’t get be wrong, I now have the most beautiful, wanted babies in the world and in some respects pregnancy is glorious. Inspecting your bump in the mirror; stroking it fondly; ‘Wow, look at it growing’;  heartbeats on scans; feeling it kick; thinking about names; imagining the child it will become…… these are memories that ex-pregnant women look back on with nostalgia.

Other memories, not so much (weak stomachs, skip a few paragraphs). Memories of bile sliding down in the toilet bowl, slightly less viscous than bleach but just as luminous.  Bile occasionally landing in other places when I couldn’t reach the toilet in time. Or of my boobs itching outrageously until I was clawing at myself. Memories of tiredness engulfing me like a cloying fog.

Of randomly waking up to find my husband on the phone to the ambulance service, after treating me for a particularly nasty, preganancy-related diabetic hypo. Of finding myself absolutely freezing cold one night, sitting in my jamas on the floor covered in spilt orange squash, stuffing jelly-babies down my throat with no recollection of the hypo that had obviously woken me up and got me there.  Memories of testing my blood sugars twenty times a day because they were suddenly so unpredictable. 

Of small irritations such as repeatedly breaking off whatever important thing I was doing to have an urgent pee. Of my belly-button sticking outward like a stubborn, uncoverable nipple. Of stomach stretching to three times its normal size. Of a stone-like object in the bottom of my pelvis that made me swing my legs out and waddle when i walked.  I used to be the sort of person to go on walks of two to three hundred miles across mountain ranges. Suddenly old ladies with shih-tzus were overtaking me on the river-path round the corner from our house.

It’s all livable with of course. First pregnancy I worked full-time, nine while seven, until 36 weeks. I’m only bragging about that so that you’ll judge me less when I say that during the second pregnancy I took short-term temping jobs but mostly I slept a lot. I let my husband do everything at home and savings subsidised our living. God knows how I’d have coped if he’d had a ‘real job’ to maintain: I was in no state to look after the toddler.

I still maintain that c-sections are the easiest way to have a baby (and unfortunately the most sensible for me) but recovery is grim. After the initial elation of having a baby and it all being over, the pain relief wears off – even picking the baby up is painful – and there is mess oozing out and a cannula: ugh!

A few days into breast-feeding, you wake up with breasts the size of melons with a turgid feel about them and painful. And yes, they drip whenever the baby cries. It’s a natural thing, yes. A beautiful thing even, but not….

….well, to use a cliche, my body ‘just doesn’t feel like my own any more.’

So here we are then, the woman in the looking-glass: pasty with a double chin, swollen abodmen, a swollen infected wound beneath it. Spots. Fat. Troublesome boobs (bra stuffed with two incontinence pads) and unable to pick up her own toddler for a cuddle. Diabetes pump stuffed in back pocket.

I have a distant memory of her being a relatively fit, active, useful, possibly even attractive person once (although of course I didn’t think so at the time). I haven’t felt like that person for nearly four years, although some weeks of those four years have been better than others.

The last forty weeks have been the grimmest of all.

Leave a Reply

